Cannot load graylog web interface from fresh install

Describe your incident:

Trying to setup a siem for my environment. Can complete setup but seems the webpage ipaddress:9000 will not load. Chrome cannot reach this page. I have nuked the server and started fresh several times with no success. Opensearch page does load ipaddress:9200 with some json info.

1. Describe your environment:

OS Information: ubuntu 22 LTS

Package Version: gray log 5.0 (single node) , OpenSearch 2.0.1, mongo dB 6.0

Service logs, configurations, and environment variables: Used configuration from graylog documentation page

What steps have you already taken to try and solve the problem?

Originally I had Graylog with ES functional, but for some reason it stopped processing logs and couldn’t get it back up. Admittedly I am new with linux and thought nuking and going with opensearch would be a good learning xp.**

Used both to try to figure out how to setup >>
youtube video on graylog setup and graylog page on ubuntu install both are slightly different. (can’t post the links as it kept giving me errors when tryign to setup this post.)

Services show running (openlog, mongodb, GL)

1. How can the community help?

I just need to get the GL web interface to work so I can complete configuration. or finish pulling out hair

Hello @galcoChris

Can you show you configuration Graylog and Opensearch?

1 Like

Hallo @galcoChris

Please look with

netstat -nl 

whether the port is open

Make sure if you want to reach the server from another device set the bind adress to 0.0.0.0:9000. If you use a firewall oder Ip Tables please open the port.

1 Like

Sorry you are having trouble. Is this the same GL instance, you had running, but you switched out ES for OS?

Your server.conf and opensearch.yml files would help. Also, have you checked the GL logs for clues?

1 Like

thanks for responding.