Raspberry Pi 4 home Graylog setup

Comments?

Posted by
u/BourbonInExile in Reddit

A bit of disclosure up front: I work at Graylog. I’ve been a software engineer on the Integrations team (mostly building Enterprise features like the O365 input and the BigQuery output) since March of 2020 and in May of 2021 I became the US Engineering Team Lead. Prior to this past weekend, I’ve done a lot of running Graylog from the IntelliJ debugger on test data but no actual running Graylog at home on my own data.

So last Thursday, Jeff and Aaron dropped a video on YouTube going over running Graylog on a Raspberry Pi using Docker (LINK) and I decided it was time to get off my butt and turn one of my Raspberry Pis into a Graylog box. I figured I’d take a few minutes to generally write up the process so others can complain that this write-up is woefully out of date when it turns up in their Google search 3 years from now.

Step 0 - Prep

So right off the bat, I knew I was going to have to totally reimage one of my Raspberry Pi 4s. They were both running Raspbian, which is 32-bit only and Graylog via Docker requires a 64-bit OS. So Step 0 was getting everything that mattered migrated over to the other Pi. That meant migrating my Pi-hole setup (and updating the router to point to Pi-hole on the new box) and the various Reddit scripts I run to make r/wetshaving a nice sub to participate in.

Step 1 - New OS

With a fully disposable Raspberry Pi 4 (8GB) at my disposal, I followed this tutorial to get Ubuntu installed. Once it was up and running on Ubuntu, I also installed a few of my favorite extras like Oh My Zsh and screen. And, of course, I installed Docker.