Ntopng to graylog

Hello,
So I might of figured out a way.
I would send ntopng to MySQL
Elasticsearch would then get the logs from MySQL and forward to Graylog.
Does that sound feasible?

Technically speaking you could pipe it directly into ElasticSearch.

https://www.ntop.org/guides/ntopng/advanced_features/flows_dump.html#elasticsearch

If I’m not mistaken, Graylog can still search through the log-data as long as it ends up in one of its indices.

Would it not be better to use MySQL if optimization is a requirement?

My point was that I believe that Graylog can still query messages that were put into Elasticsearch without the actual help of Graylog itself. @Jan or @Jochen could confirm this.

So I suggested telling nTopNG to talk directly to the ElasticSearch backend and have Graylog query it. Instead of going nTopNG -> MySQL -> Graylog ->Elastic -> Graylog query.

Take that with a tonne of salt; I am only a newb.

What you say sounds reasonable so it’d be good to get a mod to share their knowledge on this.
I am just worried that sending it directly to Elasticsearch it would bring performance issues later on. I am looking to store 1 year worth of logs. Winevt, Cisco & ntopng.

If you’re going to store and query logs with Graylog, then you’re going to have to put them into Elastic. I haven’t seen evidence that Graylog2 can query a MySQL database for logging data.

So perhaps I’m misunderstanding your situation and your question.

My plan was to store in MySQL and then use Elasticsearch to query. Mainly because Elasticsearch was never intended to be used for datastoraged.

edit: was thinking of using logstash to get from MySQL to Elasticsearch.

Just some comments.
You do not have to take the advice (from (maybe a) more experienced person). As I read, you guessed it, so do it. Please share your experience.