Set a new Field in graylog

Hi Graylog Team,

I am new to graylog.

I have a requirement to create a new field as :- real_ip and real port from a raw log .

I want to use x-forwarded-for value as the real ip field and x-forwarded-port as the real port field. Please refer below log as an example.

Example Log:-

“x-forwarded-for”:“10.2.6.49”,“x-forwarded-proto”:“https”,“x-forwarded-port”:“443”,“host”:“www.example.com”,“x-amzn-trace-id”:“Root=1-623e45i6ii003jjifds”,“sec-ch-ua”:“".Not/A)Brand";v="56", "Google Chrome";v="102", "Chromium";v="102"”,“accept”:“application/json;charset=utf-8,/”,“sec-h-a-mobile”:“?0”,“user-agent”:"Mozilla/4.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/527.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/102.0.0.0

From this log we can see “x-forwarded-for” value is = 10.2.6.49.

I want to get this value of x-forwarded-for as real_ip = 10.2.6.49

Please help me how can i achieve this using a pipeline rule.

Thanks in advance

Hello && welcome @GrAlog_learner

Hope you don’t mind but I moved this post to Graylog Central (i.e., This is for help) the other category templates-and-rules-exchange is for members sharing Templates that they have created.

As for your question you could use a pipeline here

OR

You can look here for examples.

OR

Perhaps this here

Hope that helps

1 Like

Hi @gsmith ,

Thanks for moving my query to correct place .

I am new to graylog so i am not aware where i can post my queries.

I have made partial pipeline rule but i think i am going wrong somewhere . Request you to help me out here please.

Partial Pipeline rule written by me to extract x-forwarded-for as a real-ip field.

rule “Replace x-forwarded-for as Real IP”
when
(contains(to_string($message.message),x-forwarded-for,true))
then
let Val= ‘dont know what to mention here. Not sure how this assignment works’
set_field(“real_ip”, to_ip(val)); //
route_to_stream(“xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”);
end

Hello,

I understand, so here is an example.