Extractor missing fields. How can I troubleshoot?

Hi all, I’m trying to parse some logs. I first wrote a BASH script to format the logs in JSON and export to graylog. Graylog is receiving the full messages. I put a JSON extractor and the preview shows all the fields but when I search for message, a few fields are missing.

OK. Maybe my json format is wrong. So I decide to rewrite the script to space separate the data. I changed the input type to raw data. I used the split and index. The preview again shows the messages and data extracting correctly but the messages again are missing half the fields.

What gives? What am I doing wrong? How do I find out what is happening?

Please provide more information, such as some example messages, your extractor configuration, and the scripts you’ve been using.

Thanks for the reply.

Here is the script I am using. It’s rough but I’m not a programmer. The first line is an example message.

#logline="2017-12-12 09:08:22 fail2ban.filter [1311] INFO [sshd] Found 221.194.47.233"
tail -F -n0 /var/log/fail2ban.log | \
while read logline; do
        var1=$(echo $logline | cut -f1 -d ' ')
        echo $var1

var2=$(echo $logline | cut -f2 -d ' ')
        var2=$(echo $var2 | cut -f1 -d ',')
        echo $var2

var3=$(echo $logline | cut -f3 -d ' ')
        echo $var3

var4=$(echo $logline | cut -f4 -d ' ')
        var4=$(echo $var4 | cut -f1 -d ':')
        echo $var4

var5=$(echo $logline | cut -f5 -d ' ')
        echo $var5
        var6=$(echo $logline | cut -f6 -d ' ')
        echo $var6

var7=$(echo $logline | cut -f7 -d ' ')
        echo $var7

var8=$(echo $logline | cut -f8 -d ' ')
        echo $var8

echo "Message to syslog: "$var1" "$var2" "$var3" "$var4" "$var5" "$var6" "$var7" "$var8""
        echo "$var1" "$var2" "$var3" "$var4" "$var5" "$var6" "$var7" "$var8" | nc 10.20.60.101 13000
done

While I’m running the script, the output to the screen is correct. For instance:
2017-12-12
09:08:22
fail2ban.filter
[1311]
INFO
[sshd]