Extractor missing fields. How can I troubleshoot?

(JJ Martinez) #1

Hi all, I’m trying to parse some logs. I first wrote a BASH script to format the logs in JSON and export to graylog. Graylog is receiving the full messages. I put a JSON extractor and the preview shows all the fields but when I search for message, a few fields are missing.

OK. Maybe my json format is wrong. So I decide to rewrite the script to space separate the data. I changed the input type to raw data. I used the split and index. The preview again shows the messages and data extracting correctly but the messages again are missing half the fields.

What gives? What am I doing wrong? How do I find out what is happening?

(Jochen) #2

Please provide more information, such as some example messages, your extractor configuration, and the scripts you’ve been using.

(JJ Martinez) #3

Thanks for the reply.

Here is the script I am using. It’s rough but I’m not a programmer. The first line is an example message.

#logline="2017-12-12 09:08:22 fail2ban.filter [1311] INFO [sshd] Found 221.194.47.233"
tail -F -n0 /var/log/fail2ban.log | \
while read logline; do
        var1=$(echo $logline | cut -f1 -d ' ')
        echo $var1

var2=$(echo $logline | cut -f2 -d ' ')
        var2=$(echo $var2 | cut -f1 -d ',')
        echo $var2

var3=$(echo $logline | cut -f3 -d ' ')
        echo $var3

var4=$(echo $logline | cut -f4 -d ' ')
        var4=$(echo $var4 | cut -f1 -d ':')
        echo $var4

var5=$(echo $logline | cut -f5 -d ' ')
        echo $var5
        var6=$(echo $logline | cut -f6 -d ' ')
        echo $var6

var7=$(echo $logline | cut -f7 -d ' ')
        echo $var7

var8=$(echo $logline | cut -f8 -d ' ')
        echo $var8

echo "Message to syslog: "$var1" "$var2" "$var3" "$var4" "$var5" "$var6" "$var7" "$var8""
        echo "$var1" "$var2" "$var3" "$var4" "$var5" "$var6" "$var7" "$var8" | nc 10.20.60.101 13000
done

While I’m running the script, the output to the screen is correct. For instance: