Failing JSON Extractor

Hi

I’m quite new to Graylog configuration. I’m trying to set up a Filebeat input where there’s JSON single line events in the log files, like this:

{ “time”: “2018-12-07 12:56:12.2948”, “level”: “INFO”, “message”: “This is log event number 93 generated randomly in batch 374fa6d5-253a-4111-b274-f780a4255d47”, “CorrelationID”: “36835d49-c68e-4bb8-91e2-28954217e0a2”, “SessionID”: “6869282”, “Component”: “APP”, “ComponentVersion”: “1.5.0.0”, “Action”: “SEARCH”, “Method”: “SeachBook”, “MemberID”: “10820048”, “TimeSpent”: “” }

The sidecar is working, and when i submit logs I can see that they are received at greylog by looking at the in/out metric counter, and they appear in the input stream when searching, as long as I dont add an JSON extractor on the input.

I have understood that I need to add a JSON extractor on the message field. but when I do this, then no messages gets through.

The extractor seems to parse fine using the “Try” button;

I have looked at some of the topics regarding this. There’s some key name char restrictions. Does not seems to be my problem, then theres some date parsing. I dont know if my time field is parsed as a date object, and theres a problem here?

Can anyone please help me how to troubleshot this? Or maybe even a solution.
Thanks a lot.

And great product by the way:-)

1 Like

Well, first, don’t select “Flatten” - that just tries to stuff it all into a single field with a weird format; so uncheck that. Then there’s the issue that it may not want to work after all due to the JSON object also containing a field named “message”, and I’m not sure how that plays along with Graylog JSON extractor (especially in copy mode).

An alternative option is to do this in a pipeline, a bit more work but if you create a rule as follows:

rule "parse the json log entries"
when
  true
then
  let json_tree = parse_json(to_string($message.message));