Events and custom fields

Hi,
I am fairly new to Graylog, having done a Graylog 4.1.3 installation from scratch on Debian 10, Elasticsearch 7.10. So far, a lot of things are running smoothly, but I have problems understanding the concept of custom fields in alerts/events. Exact usecase:
I have an aggregation event that collects Windows Event ID 4625 (failed logon) over 5 minutes. If there are more than 4 events for the same User (Aggregation → Group by field(s) → “TargetUserName”) , the event is triggered.
This works fine.

My problem is the custom fields. I would like to integrate all Workstations where the user has tried to log on in the event. From my understanding, this should be possible with CustomFields in the event definition. So I defined a field

Field Name: FailedWorkstations
Is Key?Yes
Value Source: Template
Data Type: string
Configration: template: “${source.WorkstationName}” require_values: false

But it is empty. If I add another field with

Configuration: template: “${source.TargetUserName}” require_values: false

→ it shows the custom field in the event with the username. So, the syntax would work, but only for TargetUserName (which I already have, because I aggregate on this one).

Looking for a solution, I stumbled across “backlog” to be enabled. But… I do not have a notification defined, I just want to see the event in the GUI (for now). Anyway, I created a dummy mail notification and set backlog to 5, but this didn’t change anything.

Is there a way to include the workstation names in the event as custom field?
Otherwise, we would have to create a search based on the time and filter of the event manually (?) Or is there a way to quickly create a search filter for all messages that are related to the event?

Hello && Welcome

I might be able to help you with this.