Upgrade path from 4.0 to 5.1


We are planning to upgrade one instance of Graylog and viewed the upgrade documentation.

There are two inconsistencies:

  • Is skipping minor versions the right thing to do?

Approach to Upgrading says:

  1. Do not skip a major (or minor) version when upgrading Graylog.

Upgrading Graylog on Redhat tells that skipping minor versions is OK:

Warning: Do not skip a major version when upgrading Graylog. For example, to upgrade from 3.3.x to 4.3.x, first upgrade to the major version 4.0.x and then to 4.3.x. To upgrade from 3.3.x to 5.x.x, follow the same progression, i.e. first upgrade to the major versions then to 5.x.x (3.1 > 4.0 > 5.0 > 5.1.6).

  • there is also inconsistency on MongoDB version requirements.

Upgrading to Graylog 4.1 tells that the minimum mongodb version is 3.6:

MongoDB Version Compatibility

4.3.x 3.6 4.4

Approach to Upgrading (graylog.org) tells

Upgrading from 4.2.x to 4.3.x

Warning: Upgrading to version 4.3.x requires Graylog to be running the latest 4.2.x version which is (4.2.13-1).

  1. Upgrade Mongo to 4.4 (if needed).


Since upgrading to Graylog 5.0 requires upgrading Mongodb anyway, we should upgrade mongo anyway, but the more interesting (and potentially work saving) question is whether we actually are able to skip upgrading to minor versions.

I’m working on verifying this but my understanding is that you cannot skip minor versions.

An upgrade path from 4.0 to 5.1 would look something like:

  • Start: 4.0
  • Upgrade to 4.0.17
  • Upgrade to 4.1
  • Upgrade to 4.2
  • Upgrade to 4.3
  • Upgrade to 5.0
  • Upgrade to 5.1

This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.