Remove date from message

I have some logs that send timestamps in their messages, which I cannot change.
Hence I want to create a rule to catch and remove that. I have tried the following - unsuccessful so far (I have tried with “true” instead of the contains rule, too):

rule "Remvove date"
when
    contains(to_string($message.application_name), "mytimeapp", true)
then
    regex_replace(".*([0-9]{4}-[0-9]{2}-[0-9]{2} [0-9]{2}:[0-9]{2}:[0-9]{2}).*", to_string($message.message), "", false);
end

Hello && Welcome @Chris_11

By chance is this a issue? If this is… might want to change category to Graylog Central, This is basically for sharing Ideas and templates members created to help other out. :+1:

Can you post a example of the message?

Hi @gsmith and thank you!
I’m not sure whether this is an issue, or if I’m doing something wrong (newbie here :slight_smile: ). Here’s an example message that should fit (at least regex- wise):

2022-08-10 02:39:18 DEBUG base_http.call_openapi:415 [...someothercontenthere...] [200]

Total understand, I need to find out what your trying to do.
BUT :smiley:
Since you have trouble with pipeline I consider this a incident. I moved it to Graylog Central so others can jump in help ya also.
As for the pipeline, I’m sorry I don’t understand exactly you want.
What I do understand is that you want to remove data from a field? Is this correct?

If so, this data under the fields called application_name? which is the message you just posted?

Hey,

Did a quick forum search on this, maybe this might help.

Thanks you - not really - or, not that I’m aware of :slight_smile:
Ok let’s sum this up: I have a message coming in from a syslog- forwarder. Hence, the “full_message” (which I can see in the graylog search) is:

<190>1 2022-08-10T02:40:25.902071+02:00 my_server mytimeapp - - - 2022-08-10 02:40:25 DEBUG base_http.call_openapi:415  [...someothercontenthere...] [200]

the “message” is shown as: