Plugins and the Web Interface

Hi there,

I’m new to Graylog Development and still trying to figure out the code-base and how everything ties together, but I’m struggling with getting a plugin to work while running in development mode with IntelliJ.

I have the server running in IntelliJ, and I also have the npm development web server running so I can make live-changes.

I’ve added a plugin (https://github.com/graylog-labs/graylog-plugin-threatintel) into IntellJ and I can see when I start the server that it loads the plugin:

2017-05-03 11:19:38,228 INFO : org.graylog2.bootstrap.CmdLineTool - Loaded plugin: Threat Intelligence Plugin 0.10.0 [org.graylog.plugins.threatintel.ThreatIntelPlugin]

However, I’m not sure how the plugin needs to integrate with the NPM webserver. Does it need to install files into the graylog2-server/graylog2-web-interface directory?

When I browse to the webserver, under System => Configurations, I can see some information about the newly added threat-intel plugin, but when I click on the “Configure” button, the browser throws a javascript exception:

vendor.js:39306 Uncaught Error: Element type is invalid: expected a string (for built-in components) or a class/function (for composite components) but got: undefined. Check the render method of ThreatIntelPluginConfig.
at invariant (vendor.js:39306)
at instantiateReactComponent (vendor.js:10840)
at instantiateChild (vendor.js:31297)
at traverseAllChildrenImpl (vendor.js:11154)

How can I tell that the browser is able to load the required code in order to render this plugin’s GUI?

Regards

Brad.

After some further research, I’ve discovered that the main webpack (in graylog2-server/graylog2-web-interface/webpack.combined.config.js) is responsible for loading in the GUI code of any plugins by looking for plugins in …/…/graylog-plugin-*/**/webpack.config.js, and I can actually see it being loaded when I run “npm start”: