Plugins and the Web Interface

(Bradley Kite) #1

Hi there,

I’m new to Graylog Development and still trying to figure out the code-base and how everything ties together, but I’m struggling with getting a plugin to work while running in development mode with IntelliJ.

I have the server running in IntelliJ, and I also have the npm development web server running so I can make live-changes.

I’ve added a plugin (https://github.com/graylog-labs/graylog-plugin-threatintel) into IntellJ and I can see when I start the server that it loads the plugin:

2017-05-03 11:19:38,228 INFO : org.graylog2.bootstrap.CmdLineTool - Loaded plugin: Threat Intelligence Plugin 0.10.0 [org.graylog.plugins.threatintel.ThreatIntelPlugin]

However, I’m not sure how the plugin needs to integrate with the NPM webserver. Does it need to install files into the graylog2-server/graylog2-web-interface directory?

When I browse to the webserver, under System => Configurations, I can see some information about the newly added threat-intel plugin, but when I click on the “Configure” button, the browser throws a javascript exception:

vendor.js:39306 Uncaught Error: Element type is invalid: expected a string (for built-in components) or a class/function (for composite components) but got: undefined. Check the render method of ThreatIntelPluginConfig.
at invariant (vendor.js:39306)
at instantiateReactComponent (vendor.js:10840)
at instantiateChild (vendor.js:31297)
at traverseAllChildrenImpl (vendor.js:11154)

How can I tell that the browser is able to load the required code in order to render this plugin’s GUI?

Regards

Brad.

(Bradley Kite) #2

After some further research, I’ve discovered that the main webpack (in graylog2-server/graylog2-web-interface/webpack.combined.config.js) is responsible for loading in the GUI code of any plugins by looking for plugins in …/…/graylog-plugin-*/**/webpack.config.js, and I can actually see it being loaded when I run “npm start”: