No message sources found

Hi,

I’m new to graylog and struggling to get it to work. I have created the below file on the server i wish to monitor

/etc/rsyslog.d/90-graylog2.conf
With

$template GRAYLOGRFC5424,"%protocol-version% %timestamp:::date-rfc3339% %HOSTNAME% %app-name% %procid% %msg%\n"
*.* @185.70.xxx.xxx:5140;GRAYLOGRFC5424
*.* @@185.70.xxx.xxx:5514;GRAYLOGRFC5424

and created inputs for both tcp and udp as below as per instructions

SYSLOG TCP (Syslog TCP) 1 running
Network IO:  0B  0B (total:  1,8MiB  0B )  Show details
Total connections: 1 (1 active)  Show details
allow_override_date: true
port: 5140
bind_address: 185.70.xxx.xxx
recv_buffer_size: 1048576

SYSLOG UDP (Syslog UDP) 1 running
Network IO:  0B  0B (total:  1.9MiB  0B )  Show details
allow_override_date: true
port: 5514
bind_address: 185.70.xxx.xxx
recv_buffer_size: 1048576

When i click on sources there is nothing there. IP tables have been turned off on both servers.

Any ideas as to what ive missed or not done correctly?

Thanks

(Jochen) #2

You’ve got it the wrong way round. In the rsyslog configuration, @ means UDP, @@ means TCP.

Please refer to https://github.com/Graylog2/graylog-guide-syslog-linux/blob/master/README.md#rsyslog for the relevant documentation.

Thanks, ive updated this and restarted the syslog service but im still not seeing anything?

(Jochen) #4

What did you change exactly and what’s the current configuration of your Graylog syslog inputs and rsyslog?

Hi,

I just changed the 90-graylog2.conf file in rsyslog.d

$template GRAYLOGRFC5424,"%protocol-version% %timestamp:::date-rfc3339% %HOSTNAME% %app-name% %procid% %msg%\n"
*.* @@185.70.10.253:5140;GRAYLOGRFC5424
*.* @185.70.10.253:5514;GRAYLOGRFC5424

The gralog inputs are still the same

(Jochen) #6