Newbie: Rule not saving

A rules newbie here, running graylog 2.4.3

I’ve used graylog before in conjunction with logstash, but have decided this time round to just use graylog and explore grok extractors etc.

Having got those working I realised moving to pipelines and rules was the way to go.

I created this rule (after setting up a stream and pipeline):

rule "ap1"
    when
      has_field("message")
    then
      let message_field = to_string($message.message);
      let action = grok(pattern: "%{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:syslog_timestamp} \(""%{SYSLOGHOST:hostname},%{DATA:mac},%{DATA:firmware}""\) %{DATA:program}(?:\[%{POSINT:pid}\])?: %{GREEDYDATA:syslog_message}", value: message_field, only_named_captures: true);;
      set_fields(action);
    end

But it won’t save.

My server logs look like:

2018-03-21T22:04:57.025+13:00 ERROR [AnyExceptionClassMapper] Unhandled exception in REST resource
java.lang.NullPointerException: null
	at org.graylog.plugins.pipelineprocessor.parser.PipelineRuleParser$RuleAstBuilder.exitNamedArgs(PipelineRuleParser.java:426) ~[?:?]
	at org.graylog.plugins.pipelineprocessor.parser.RuleLangParser$NamedArgsContext.exitRule(RuleLangParser.java:1515) ~[?:?]
	at org.antlr.v4.runtime.tree.ParseTreeWalker.exitRule(ParseTreeWalker.java:71) ~[?:?]
	at org.antlr.v4.runtime.tree.ParseTreeWalker.walk(ParseTreeWalker.java:54) ~[?:?]
	at org.antlr.v4.runtime.tree.ParseTreeWalker.walk(ParseTreeWalker.java:52) ~[?:?]
	at org.antlr.v4.runtime.tree.ParseTreeWalker.walk(ParseTreeWalker.java:52) ~[?:?]
	at org.graylog.plugins.pipelineprocessor.parser.PipelineRuleParser.parseRule(PipelineRuleParser.java:170) ~[?:?]
	at org.graylog.plugins.pipelineprocessor.parser.PipelineRuleParser.parseRule(PipelineRuleParser.java:135) ~[?:?]
	at org.graylog.plugins.pipelineprocessor.rest.RuleResource.parse(RuleResource.java:119) ~[?:?]
	at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor213.invoke(Unknown Source) ~[?:?]