Need help in pipeline rule configuration

I am new to the pipeline feature in Graylog. I am trying to set up a pipeline rule but after going through soo many sources not able to find a suitable one.

Rule definition: If the “message:” contains “failed” then add a new field.

Message format is like: (field: value)
message: [2018-07-19 10:33:10,053] admin finish [2486:failed] AllServers admin/- “-/-”[-]

I need help with 2 things basically:

1. writing the “when” condition for matching if “failed” string present in the message.
  2. extracting job id (2486) from the message and store it into a variable.

@anmolsharma

I would build a GROK Pattern (with the help of https://grokdebug.herokuapp.com/ ) to extract the needed values. But the structure is not very parsing friendly.

When you reveal the application that is writing such a logfile you might find a user solution already in the community.

@jan
Thank you for the GROK reference. I have written a the following GROK pattern suitable for the log message mentioned above.

[%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:logdate}] %{USERNAME:eventUser} %{WORD:event} [%{NUMBER:jobID}:%{WORD:state}] %{DATA:rundeckProject} %{GREEDYDATA}

Using above GROK pattern, I will get “jobID” and “status”.

But, how do I use it with pipeline function “grok” to create a rule. I need only a simple example for understanding.

you might find this useful:

https://community.graylog.org/search?q=grok%20pattern

@jan
I have found a similar use-case on thread Pipeline rule: Escaping brackets in grok template but unanswered.
I have tried creating a pipeline rule for the use case described above but getting the errors undermentioned. Please let me know where am I going wrong and it’s workaround.

Rule definition:
rule “process_when_message_contains_failed”
when
(has_field(“message”) AND contains(“failed”))
then
let message_field = to_string($message.message);