Log Cisco Messages

Hi, I’m new in Graylog and i’m trying to setup a syslog for several cisco switchs (Old switchs with old IOS).

I’ve tried everything tha i’ve read in this forum and on the documentation, but I can’t get the logs that come from the switch to work.
Input Configuration:

On the Switch side I have no option to set a port. It only let me set the host IP.

On the firewall i’ve created a rule to redirect port 514 to port 1514.
“sudo firewall-cmd --permanent --add-forward-port=port=514:proto=udp:toport=1514”

I’ve tried the Syslog UDP input and the Raw/PlainText UDP input but unsuccessfully.

Can anyone help me set this?

Thanks,
Nuno

Are you sure the messages are being sent? Are you sure they are making it to the Graylog server? The screenshot shows the port you are listening on as 1510, but your firewall forwarding is to port 1514?

Hi,

How can i tell if the messages are making it to the Graylog Server?
The screenshot has been corrected and is on port 1514.

run tcpdump on the graylog server…

tcpdump host “sourceIP”

should tell you everything the server sees from/to “sourceIP”

just remember to sudo it if you need to and specify the interface. Also can use:

tcpdump src “sourceIP” which will tell you only traffic from the “sourceIP” good for noisy environs.

Hi cawfehman,

First of all, I appreciate all the help you have given so far.

I am setting up this software as a project to start moving more on Linux systems and it is being challenging.

About the initial issue, I can see messages coming to the server, but they aren’t showing up on Graylog inputs.

The command i’ve executed on the server, as you mentioned, was "tcpdump -i ens192 host “Switch ip”
Here is the Output:

Do i need to configure anything else?

Thanks in advance.

If you use selinux check if selinux doesn’t block something, so try to temporary stop it (change to permissive mode) and restart graylog service:

sudo setenforce 0
sudo systemctl restart graylog.service