How to transfer data to a new server

Hi,

I tested graylog with the OVA Appliance and the Index is full now and instead of increasing it I thought that it would be better to install a new VM and install graylog manually. So, I have done this but it would be nice if I can migrate the data from the old test server to the new one?

I have about 20 GB data and I dont want to lose it.

Thank you in advance!

Best Regards
Andi

:wave: what data are you most concerned about? Just the configs, or are you wanting to back up all the data on the appliance?

No, the config is not important because I haven’t configured much things in the old system. Just 3 or 4 Inputs and as a test the VMware Plugin but it doesn’t work unfortunately :frowning:

There are about 20G data from the inputs and only this data I would like to migrate to the new server. I hope this is possible :slight_smile: Maybe as a output from the old system to the new or just copy? I have no idea. I am totally new to graylog and elastic or something.

you need the configuration from your mongoDB to be able to read the data in elasticsearch.

The easiest option would be a copy of your mongoDB database, use that as starter for your new cluster and connect both elasticsearch nodes to each other that you can copy the data from the old to the new server.

This is not an easy task - as in elasticsearch the information who has access to what is stored together with your data. If the meta information change (cluster information, userid, streamid and more) you are not able to access the data again from within Graylog.

I am not sure if you can set up an OVM instance in a cluster, a quick search didn’t find anything for or against it. I would research creating a mongo replica set/ Elasticsearch cluster with a new Graylog front end… change who is master and once all is working you can drop out the OVA. This also would put you in a ready position for the future…

1 Like