Help with upgrading for a graylog beginner

Hello,

I need to update our Graylog appliance to mitigate the Log4j vulnerability but i have very little experience with graylog and not sure of the process! Had a look around the site but can’t find the process.

We just have one Graylog server thats running on Ubuntu and currently on v2.5.1+34194da, and i’m guessing an upgrade to 3.3.15 would be the easiest for the mitigation?

Edit just ran dpkg -l | grep -E “.(elasticsearch|graylog|mongo).” and the results:
graylog 2.5.1-1
graylog-4.2-repository 1-4

If anyone could assist with the upgrade procedure or point me towards a guide that would be great,

Thanks

Hello there

When upgrading Graylog, we recommend that you upgrade incrementally through all intervening major versions, starting the service after each incremental upgrade.

MongoDB and Elasticsearch should be upgraded before Graylog. They can be left running when Graylog is upgraded.

Eg 3.1.x → 3.3.x → 4.0x → 4.1.x → 4.2.x

1 Like

The installation guide actually has the update commands which are pretty standard. Scroll down a bit from the link. The doc dudes are planning an update to correct this…

You will need to hunt down the older version upgrade you want to download in Graylog packages

Thanks for the replies.

So the output of dpkg -l | grep -E ".(elasticsearch|graylog|mongo)." doesn’t mention elasticsearch or mongo, does that mean they aren’t used?

I have tried the commands to install graylog-3.0-repository_latest.deb but get the following errors (i assume the fetch errors aren’t important but included them for reference). This adds the 3.0 repository but graylog is still on 2.5.1 after a reboot:

W: Failed to fetch https://packages.graylog2.org/repo/debian/dists/stable/3.0/binary-amd64/Packages gnutls_handshake() failed: Handshake failed

W: Failed to fetch https://packages.graylog2.org/repo/debian/dists/stable/3.0/binary-i386/Packages gnutls_handshake() failed: Handshake failed