Help with understanding a few key fundamental conepts of graylog. Raw vs Syslog input

Hello

I’m new to graylog and I realise that I have some issues with a few fundamental concepts. Me not understanding them makes troubleshooting a bit hard. Bare with me now since I’m new here and thanks for patience and understanding. If this is clearly described in the documentation somewhere, feel free to point me there. Been looking but can’'t find it.

So, when I have multiple inputs on the same port, like Raw UDP and Syslog UDP on port 1514, what mechanism decides what goes to what input? Is it how the message is tagged from the source/sender? Here in my installation it seems a bit random and after a restart of graylog messages that previously was “handled” by RAW input is now ‘received by’ Syslog input.

And in this particular case, when received by Syslog input graylog have some issues with extracting a proper source from the message. And from the looks of it I cannot see that GrayLog stores the IP of a ‘sender’/host somewhere to be accessed/parsed?

Is it in general considered bad and not best practice with multiple inputs on the same port as described above?

Cheers and thanks

I believe Inputs like syslog try to do some basic extractions for you whereas raw leaves all extraction up to you. In the case where you have non-standard format syslog coming in, you may want to switch to RAW to make sure you can capture what you want. As such, I would recommend a separate port for each input so that you (and Graylog) have a clear sense of what is coming in and how to handle it.

Hello

Sadly port cannot be configured in all our devices so some need to share the default 514 port. Some of them sends in “proper” syslog format and some does not.

But what I don’t understand is if I have both RAW and Syslog inputs on same port activated, am I supposed to see ALL the incoming messages in both those?