Grok - Extractor Help

First off, Thanks for help in advance. Please go easy on me, I’m completely new to grok, but trying to lear so I can enhance the use of Graylog.

I’m finding that I cannot do a second parameter correctly, and I’m asking for some help in figuring out what I’m doing. I’ve watched a few youtubers, and read the documentation, and I cannot figure out what I am doing incorrectly.

here is my line:

[2021-05-19 10:30:25.868276] (info) - Starting P25 Recorder Num [34] TG: 543 (e[35m CMPD Provdn Dispe[0m) Freq: 858.987500 MHz TDMA: false Slot: 0 Mod: true

I’m trying to break it into the following:

Timestamp, loglevel, TG_id, TG_name, Freq, TDMA, Slot, Mod,

I cannot get past timestamp to do loglevel… both expressions work on their own, but when combined I get an parameter error.

%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp} %{LOGLEVEL:tr_log-level}

I am sure its something simple, but unfortunately I don’t have a good resource that gets into “why these fail” and graylog doesn’t get very specific when it says its not working to give me a hint.

Again, thanks in advance.

Brian,

It may be because the log level is surrounded by parenthesis.

Can you try:

%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp} \(%{LOGLEVEL:tr_log-level}\)

And see if that gives you a better result?

Thanks,
Mark

Sorry I should have mentioned that I had tried that – and it does not work. I did try .*%{LOGLEVEL:tr_log-level} as well.

So here is the matching grok pattern that I can validate on Test grok patterns
but it does not work inside of graylog? any suggestions?

\[%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:tr_timestamp}\]\s+\(%{LOGLEVEL:tr_log-level}\)\s+-\s+%{WORD:tr_action}.*TG:%{SPACE}%{WORD:tr_tgid}.*\(.*%{SPACE}\[.*(?<tr_tgname>%{WORD} %{WORD} %{WORD}).*\).*Freq:\s+%{FREQ:tr_freq}\s+TDMA:\s+%{WORD:tr_tdma}\s+Slot:\s+%{NUMBER:tr_slot}\s+Mod:\s+%{WORD:tr_mod}

So just an update:
here’s the sample lines I’m using now: