Custom Mappings and Historical Correction

I posted this a while ago but it is buried in the forums - Here it is in an easier to find place:

One mans journey on correcting a elasticsearch datatype for Graylog
FYE (For Your Edification):

Before you read any further, know that I am very new to all of this graylog/elastic stuff. This process worked for me but there may be underlying problems I haven’t noticed… and of course your mileage may vary depending on your configuration/replication/nodes and for that matter what versions of things you are using.

Current relevant versions:
Graylog: 3.3.4
Elastic 6.8.10

Scenario: I had a field called login_duration that tracks the duration of each time an employee connects to one of our VPN’s (in seconds… but that’s another story) and Elastic decided that it would be a keyword rather than long …which meant I could not sum up the total time connected over X days.

What to do?: Create a custom index mapping of course! Just follow this and it will all just work! If you aren’t familiar with it… stop right here and read through it. This saga assumes you have.

But… I have more than one indices in my index set and the current/old ones will retain login_duration as a keyword . I could delete all the past indices… but that is not particularly helpful.

Solution: I will create the custom mapping AND I will reindex the indices that have the keyword. Hold onto your hat, I am going to step through my process here.

Caveat: I have only one Elastic database to work on and this is not a production system so I am not getting into backing up before you do any of this. You should have read the docs on custom index mapping and the warnings saying you should think through what you are doing!

The work: First I needed to see where login_duration was a keyword particularly since I have two VPN’s that initially work off different indices.

curl -X GET -netrc "elstc-main:9200/*/_mapping/field/login_duration?pretty" | grep -B 7 keyword