Any examples of set_field usage with 6 parameters?

I’m new to Graylog and trying to setup a pipeline rule.

The Pipeline “Rules quick reference” shows that set_field can accept 6 parameters:

field
value
prefix
suffix

I would like to use the “default” parameter to handle cases where a geoip field is missing/null. I am assuming I need to supply all 6 set_field parameters in order to supply a default value of empty string.

For example, I would like to have a default value in case the geoip subdivisions array is empty:

set_field("dst_ip_geo_state", geo["subdivisions"].[0].iso_code, "", "", $message, "");

I’ve tried several permutations of set_field with 6 parameters, but I can’t figure out the syntax. I’m getting validation errors like “Expected type Message for argument message”.

I can’t find any examples of using set_field() with all 6 parameters. Can anyone provide an actual example of set_field showing how to supply the Message object as the 5th parameter?

Environment:

Graylog v4.3.5+32fa802

Hello,
By chance have you searched the forum for geoip? There are a lot of examples. I would show you some examples but I’m working on my car rn: :joy:

My question is not about geoip. My question is about using set_field() with 6 parameters.

And yes, I’ve searched the forums and documentation, and haven’t found a single actual example showing set_field with 6 parameters. Every example I’ve found only uses 2 parameters, and the documentation doesn’t have an example of 6 parameter usage.

Without seeing any of the surrounding process and code, you could do something like below… This uses the “default” parameter of to_string()

set_field("dst_ip_geo_state", to_string(geo["country"].iso_code,"no_iso_code"));

NOTE: Removed and updated stuff in that line as well…

Thank you! That is a clever workaround that looks simpler and cleaner! I’ll give that a try.

Unfortunately, to_string() with a default didn’t work. It throws this error when the geoip object is not available: