Unwanted Grok Fields

Hi there. I’m fairly new to the Graylog environment and log manipulation in general. I have been working to try and create extractors using Grok patterns for my router’s syslog. When I use a built-in Grok Pattern such as %{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP} that contains other Grok patterns inside of it (i.e. %{MONTH} +%{MONTHDAY} %{TIME} ), it seems to be parsing additional patterns that are not needed. What I mean by this, is that if I was to use %{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:Timestamp} in my extractor, it produces 6 other patterns (MONTH, MONTHDAY, etc.) that display the same information as Timestamp. I have attempted to attach a screenshot to better portray what I am explaining.

I have tried making my own custom Grok pattern to solve this issue, but I still end up producing the same result. I am running Graylog version 5.1 . Does someone know how to make it to where I only produce the %{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:Timestamp} pattern in my extractor and not the other duplicate outputs?

1. try to avoid extractors! Better go for pipelines.
  2. here an example how to run a grook against a message:
rule "The Name of your rule"
when
  to_string($message.someField) == "someValue" 
then
  set_fields(
    grok(
      pattern:"^%{NAME_OF_YOUR_GROK_PATTERN}",
      value:to_string($message.message),
      only_named_captures:true
    )
  );
end

The parameter only_named_captures:true will make sure not to grab every field you did not assign a name to.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply.
You’re right. I probably should have dived into using pipelines a little more. The guide I was following for setup configurations did not include the topic, so it was outside of my field of view at first. I was able to use the %{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP} pattern that I mentioned in my original post along with the only_named_captures parameter to produce one field instead of 7. I’ll have to dive deeper into pipelines because it seems there is a lot of granular control to be gained from all of these functions.