Unable to configure External Authentication on GrayLog- LDAP/Active Directory and SSO Authentication

Hi Everybody,

I am new to Graylog, working on POC to implement GrayLog for all our applications and I am unable to configure external authentications like SSO and LDAP/Active Directory. We followed this documentation https://docs.graylog.org/en/3.1/pages/users_and_roles/external_auth.html

For LDAP/Active Directory:
Test server connection is getting successful but test login is failing, so suspecting something we are doing wrong on User Mapping section.

We are getting below error when we try to test login

Connection failed

• User found

• Login attempt

Server response

Binding with empty principal is forbidden.

User’s LDAP attributes

LDAP server did not return any attributes for the user.

User’s LDAP groups

LDAP server did not return any groups for the user.

For SSO, we have given trusted proxy as 127.0.0.1/32, 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1/128 but user is unable to login using SSO as well.

Can someone help how we can fix these issues? I appreciate any help!

1. Did you 100% sure, that user you want to authenticate, is member of Organization unit (OU): Ruffalo Noel Levitz
  2. If not, or want to find users in more OU, it’s better to setup Search Base DN: DC=rufallo,DC=int (so you search whole domain), and after that use LDAP filter setup in parameter User Search Pattern.
  3. I usually use want only member of specific group to login to graylog, so create group for example Graylog_users and add members of this group to it. After that use filter in field: User Search Pattern: like this:

(&(objectCategory=person)(objectClass=user)(memberOf=CN=Graylog_users,CN=Users,DC=ruffalo,DC=int)(!(userAccountControl:1.2.840.113556.1.4.803:=2)))

This parameter in LDAP filter ensure, that locked users can’t login:

!(userAccountControl:1.2.840.113556.1.4.803:=2)

If you also want add nested group (not only user accounts) to your Graylog_users group, you can use this filter: