Split a path into multiple fields

1. I have a field called fname containing a fully qualified path. Example entry:
    /home/Templates_in_Word/Projects/SmallProjects_English.dotx

I would like to create multiple fields from this field, one for every folder level (the levels are not predefined but I would stop at lvl9) through running a rule/multiple rules in a pipeline, such that I end up with the following fields (assuming the example above):
lvl0: home
lvl1: Templates_in_Word
lvl2:Projects
filename:SmallProjects_English.dotx

In case there are more levels I would like to have fields up to lvl9

1. Environment:
    Ubuntu 11.0.16
    Graylog 4.3.8

2. The problem I have (I am a newbie) is related to the dynamic number of folder levels, otherwise I could use the split function as well as having the last entry (file name) in a separate field. Am I overseeing something or is this not possible to achieve?

I searched on the internet but didn’t find an answer, that is why I am posting this here.

Thank you!

There is a similar article here that should get you on your way using regex. I would extract the file name off the end and perhaps have nine following regex commands using the progressively smaller parts of the previous finds. Eventually you will find nothing so the resulting set_field() function won’t actually create a field. There are a bunch of posts outside of Graylog for finding filenames and paths too (like here) that might be helpful. Note in the first post how it references first found with regex with ["0"]

set_field("file_name", to_string(file_name["0"]));

You can test out regex here

Also note that regex in the pipeline needs to double the escapes and time you are escaping something.

Lastly - post up your solution or if its not quite working post up the code and we’ll see what we can help with! :smiley: