Set_fields Usage?

I have syslog message roughly compatible with the syslog RFC and I’m trying to use pipelines and rules to get better control over parsing these messages. But I’m not a programmer so there are things that are tripping me up.

I have the following to do initial processing of the message:

rule "raw-process-exp"
when 
    true
then    
    // Raw processing Tests 
    let extract = grok(
        pattern: "<%{NONNEGINT:syslog_pri}>", 
        value: to_string($message.message),
        only_named_captures: true
        );  
    let syslogpriexanded = expand_syslog_priority(extract.syslog_pri);
    set_field("syslog_severity", syslogpriexanded);
    set_fields(extract);
    set_field("record_type", "EXPERIMENTAL LOG PROCESSING");
 end

What gets put in the syslog_severity field is:
{"level":3,"facility":17}

I guess that’s what they call a map or a something? I want to actually pull out the “3” and put it in the syslog_severity field. I’ve tried a couple of things but haven’t figured it out yet.

Or maybe there’s a way to use the set_fields function to automatically add a field named “level” and set it to “3” and add a field called “facility” and set it to 17? That would be cool. Haven’t figure that out either.

Is there a super-simple example somewhere on how to use the set_fields function? How do I learn the ins and outs of using these functions?

Thanks!

Operating system information

centos-linux-release-8.3-1.2011.el8.noarch

Package versions

• Graylog 4.0.7
  • MongoDB 4.2.14
  • Elasticsearch 7.10.2

Based on what you are saying, this line:

let syslogpriexanded = expand_syslog_priority(extract.syslog_pri);

Is giving you the map you want of: {"level":3,"facility":17}

so you would set_fields() against that:

set_fields(syslogpriexanded);

which should get the results you wanted.