pfSense SNORT SYSLOG Log Parsing

Hi All :slight_smile:
I am very new to Graylog, very quickly realizing how powerful the product it

I have a pfSense Firewall with SNORT installed, which works great. SNORT outputs the logs to the System Logs in pfSense and pfSense outputs the logs via SYSLOG to Greylog

All of the logs are arriving correctly within Graylog, however for the life of me I cannot parse the correct fields so I can start to get some useful data. A few examples of the MESSAGE field within the log are

snort[87537]: [136:1:1] (spp_reputation) packets blacklisted [Classification: Potentially Bad Traffic] [Priority: 2] {TCP} 2.3.4.5:16856 -> 1.2.3.4:2222

snort[87537]: [119:4:1] (http_inspect) BARE BYTE UNICODE ENCODING [Classification: Not Suspicious Traffic] [Priority: 3] {TCP} 4.5.6.7:63651 -> 1.2.3.4:8080

I am using a Pipeline with the following rule:

rule “Extract Snort alert fields”
when
has_field(“message”)
then
let m = regex("^\s?\[(\d+):(\d+):(\d+)\] (.+?) \[Classification: (.+?)\] \[Priority: (\d+)] \{(.+?)\} (\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3})(:(\d{1,5}))? -> (\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3})(:(\d{1,5}))?\R?", to_string($message.message));

set_field(“snort_alert”, true);

set_field(“generator_id”, m[“0”]);
set_field(“signature_id”, m[“1”]);
set_field(“signature_revision_id”, m[“2”]);

set_field(“description”, m[“3”]);
set_field(“classification”, m[“4”]);
set_field(“priority”, to_long(m[“5”]));
set_field(“protocol”, m[“6”]);

set_field(“src_addr”, m[“7”]);
set_field(“src_port”, to_long(m[“9”]));

set_field(“dst_addr”, m[“10”]);
set_field(“dst_port”, to_long(m[“12”]));
end

Any ideas on what I need to do to get this working ?

Cheers, Scott :slight_smile:

Hiya Scott,

I think your regex is a little too complicated - you also anchored it on something that’ll never match because \s? just means “is there a space”…

For example, taking these messages: