OpenSearchException

Hi everyone,
In the System - Overview - Indexer failures section I get the following message:

OpenSearchException[OpenSearch exception [type=illegal_argument_exception, reason=Limit of total fields [1000] has been exceeded]]

there are over 4000 records for about a month… Do you have any idea how to fix it? I find similar errors for elastich but nothing related to opensearch.

S.o. Ubuntu 22.04 - Graylog 5.0.5 - OpenSearch 2.5.0 - Mongodb 6.0
I’m not very experienced…
Thank you all for the fantastic support

There is a maximum of 1000 fields per index. If you have a ton of different sources, or if your sources have a ton of different fields, you will hit this limit.

The limit can be increased, but the better way to handle it is to split your traffic into different indices. The easiest way is to use streams. Set up a stream rule to separate different types of logs, (eg. FW, Windows, Apache, etc) and route those streams each into their own index. Use index routing in the stream page to do that,

Details avaialble here: Streams

1 Like

You will also need to manually rotate your index to fix the problem on the original default index. Index model. All the way at the bottom of that page.

the problem continues.

I found that these errors come from Windows Event Log (GELF UDP) input. I see the logs correctly, but evidently some logs arrive longer than expected.
There is only one windows machine under log.

I use nxlog to send to graylog. Can you suggest me any other alternative?
alternatively can you show me some guides to increase the limit of the fields?

Hey @blake86

Like @chris.black-gl suggested your best bet is to create a different INPUT’s and attach them to a different INDICES, problem solved. There is a very good reason why you get that error

[1000] has been exceeded].

Thank you all, I divided the indexes as indicated, but in the index dedicated to Windows log (only 1 pc) the problem persists… Do you have any solutions or suggestions?