New to Graylog - need help getting started

Hello to everyone.

I know that there is an entire documentation, but it seems to get right down to business and I feel I am missing some basic information. If this information is in the documentation- I apologize for missing it, and will appreciate if someone can post links to the correct pages.

as I hinted in the title- I am completely new to Graylog. I’m in fact completely new to the whole log collection\siem field.
I began reading the documentation and realized that I had too many questions to continue on with installation:

1. Sizing and scaling options: obviously for the first time I should use the appliance to test and see if I like the system at all, but it seems to me that after installing and configuring everything it will be a waste of time, to scrap everything and start from the beginning with the right architecture. How do I know if the appliance will be enough for our organization or if I should use a Graylog cluster (and of how many nodes)?
  2. Elasticsearch what is this? is it required? if not what added value will it have for my setup? and similar to my previous question what size should I have it?
  3. Storage - I read in the documentation that the database saves only the metadata of the logs, however I couldn’t find where the logs themselves are saved and how and where I can configure them to be saved (SMB, NFS and etc).
  4. windows servers - I read that Graylog is unable to collect logs from windows servers directly and require an agent to be installed. is there any plans to implement an agent-less solution in the future? to be honest I am not a fan of installing an agent on every server I want to monitor. I am actually wondering if I can configure all windows servers to forward their logs to a dedicated windows server with the Graylog agent installed and collect them from there. will this work? are there other or better solutions for this?