Logs from text file, JSON formatted file and database to Graylog

Hello guys,

I’m new to Graylog and need some information regarding getting different logs to Graylog.
I have 3 types of logs, each generated by a different application: a text file where new logs are appended to, JSON formatted files and database entries.

So far, if I have understood correctly, with ELK Stack I can use Logstash Gork pattern to parse text file lines, Logstash JDBC input to import data from database and Filebeat prospectror with JSON option to proccess JSON files. But I would like to know how can I parse and collect mentioned types of logs to Graylog? What are the most common methods?

Thank you in advance!

Collecting files would also be done through FileBeats, using either plain FileBeats or the Graylog “Sidecar Collector” which is a piece of agent software prepared by the Graylog team.

I don’t know about pulling stuff from databases and I’ll actually have to investigate that because I’m interested too :slight_smile:

You would collect all logs with Filebeat, because it can do that. For the processing, if you do it on the filebeat side be aware that any fields that are not “message” are (as of Graylog 2.4) quietly discarded. Your best option is:

1. Grab all logs with Filebeat, but be sure to add a ‘fields’ entry per log file type that indicates what type of log it is
  2. Set up streams with matching rules where you split off the plain text stuff into one stream, the JSON stuff into another stream
  3. Set up a pipeline, attach it to the JSON stream, then set up the rules to parse the JSON out of the message field, and munge/modify/drop whatever you don’t need
  4. ???
  5. Profit!

For database entries, you may need to indeed use logstash jdbc input to a logstash GELF output, to a Graylog GELF input.

1 Like