Grok extractor pattern help

Hi!

I’m new to graylog and I’m having trouble trying to extract data from my log lines via a Grok extractor

My log lines are semicolon separated lists like this: timestamp;uid;ip;useragent;url …
So I created a grok pattern that looks like this:

%{TIME};%{DATA:request_id};%{DATA:ip};{DATA:useragent};

My problem is with the user agent. In a normal case, the user agent is just a string retrievable with %{DATA:useragent}. But in some cases, the user agent contains a semicolon, so it is enclosed in quotes in the log line.

How can I get this field in all cases?

I tried to use the ${QUOTEDSTRING} grok pattern which does not work when there is no quotes. So I tried to create a new pattern (%{QUOTEDSTRING}|.*), but it also catches the semicolons after when their is not quotes (Mozilla/5.0;13;14;22).

I also tried with (%{QUOTEDSTRING}|.*?), without success.

Thanks for your help!

Hello && Welcome @mobarzik

Need to ask a coupel questions. By chance can you give an example of the whole message? Have you tried pieplines and/or Regex instread of Grok?

Hello @gsmith

Here are two examples of lines (anonymized of course)

With quotes because of the semicollon in useragent :
21:50:32,522;434FBF4-9B38-DEADBEEF-01BB-6418E98D-13E52BB8-1057E;1679353197584;;8.8.8.8;;;802;;;/myuripath/search?date=1292523600000;;;"Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 12; SM-G970U1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/111.0.0.0 Mobile Safari/537.36";0;0;0;0;;0;0;;;

Without quotes

21:50:32,522;434FBF4-9B38-DEADBEEF-01BB-6418E98D-13E52BB8-1057E;1679353197584;;8.8.8.8;;;802;;;/myuripath/search?date=1292523600000;;;Go-http-client/2.0;0;0;0;0;;0;0;;;

As I explained, there are 21 fields separated by semicolons, some fields being empty.

I didn’t try with a pipeline but I imagine that the split function will give me the same problems in the first case.

Hey @mobarzik

I was just going to say pipeline split_function.