Graylog Data Retention and Compress

Hi, folks!

I’m a newbie in Graylog/Elasticsearch and I’m starting to implement it to manage some logs in my organization. Reading the documentation (of both softwares) I’d faced a lot of information about what I will ask here. But…I’m looking for some advices of the more experienced users about the best practices at all.

The scenario: Graylog 4.3 and Elasticsearch 7.17.
I’m already have a Squid Proxy server sending the user’s Internet access logs, I have a dashboard with some charts, tables, metrics etc. I’m able to search and manage the data that I’m catching. I’ll start to catch the logs of other servers in the future but, for now, the above is enough for explain my doubts. Now…I’m concerned about the disk consumption increase.

So, there goes some doubts:
How can I configure data retention in Graylog?
For example…the most cost-effective (in terms of disk consumption) logs that I’ll manage are Squid Proxy logs. I want to store the user’s Internet access logs for 1 year period. I’ve read in the Elasticsearch docs about a feature named “rollup”, but I don’t no if its a good idea to configure it “direct” on ES under Graylog. I mean, Graylog is able to deal with all those concepts of “rolllup search”, “rollup index”, etc?

Is there a way to “rotate” and/or “compress” the older indexes while still retaining Graylog’s ability to search them (with some performance degradation, I think, but it’s OK)?

In other words…can someone “guide” me for where I can start to look and read about it? The ES documentation are rich, but I could not define what features are aplicable in the Graylog stack. What are the best practices? How would you deal with my scenario?

Thanks in advance. Please, be patient with this newbie and sorry for my bad English. xD

Hello && Welcome @araubach

First, are you aware that your version of Elasticsearch is greater then Graylog supports? Second, FYI Graylog is moving toward OpenSearch.

Data retention in Graylog.