Graylog Alerting Question

Hello, I’m pretty new to Graylog so hopefully I’m not missing something that is clearly stated in the docs, but I have an alerting question.

I am trying to set up alerts that trigger for things like port locks, AD account lockouts, etc. I can get the streams and alerts configured correctly and they trigger when they are supposed to. The issue I am running into is that, say for an AD account lockout, the alert stays unresolved and I get a steady stream of emails about the account lockout.

What I am looking for is a way to set it up so that things like AD lockouts, port locks, etc. trigger a single email about the event and then, I guess, reset back to a resolved state so that it can be triggered again by a different instance of the alert.

I just need a single notification email about an account lockout, port lock, what have you. Is this something that can be done? Am I just missing something and/or not fully understanding the alert config options? Thanks in advance for any help and assistance.

In your alert condition, do you have “Repeat notifications” checked?

Shane -

Thanks for the response. I do have that checkbox checked. It says underneath that box “Check this box to send notifications every time the alert condition is evaluated and satisfied regardless of its state.” which reads to me like I would want that checked so that I would be alerted to multiple AD account lockouts even if the first lockout hasn’t been unlocked yet (if unlocking counts as the resolution). So I’d get an email notification when “asmith” get locked, and also get an email notification when “jdoe” gets locked even if “asmith” hasn’t been unlocked yet.

The actual behavior I am seeing though, is that Graylog sends me alert emails over and over for the “asmith” lockout. After I got five emails for the same lockout I turned off the stream so that the emails would stop, but the alert is still sitting as “unresolved”.