GELF message ERROR in server.log

Hi team,

I’m new to graylog and I’ve set up inputs from servers to graylog server via fluentd UDP using GELF.
I have fine messages in Graylog however server log is full of ERROR messages like:

ERROR [EnvelopeMessageAggregationHandler] Caught exception while decoding type of GELF packet: GELF message is too short. Not even the type header would fit.

Input settings GELF UDP

bind_address: 0.0.0.0
decompress_size_limit: 8388608
number_worker_threads: 2
override_source: <empty>
port: 12202
recv_buffer_size: 262144

Fluentd config

<match graylog2.**>
  @type gelf
  host x.x.x.x
  port 12202
  <buffer>
    flush_interval 5s
  </buffer>
</match>

<source>
    @type tail
    path /.../*.log
    tag graylog2
    read_from_head true
  <parse>
    @type none
    time_format %d/%m/Y %H:%M:%S,%L%z
  </parse>
  </source>
  <match sample.**>
    @type forward
    heartbeat_type udp
    send_timeout 60s
    recover_wait 10s
    hard_timeout 60s
    <server>
      name X.server
      host x.x.x.x
      port 12202
      weight 60
    </server>
  </match>

I’m using latest graylog version 4.1

I tried to debug it many ways nevertheless there is no clue which could provide me more info to solve this issue. Please help, many thanks.

Hello && Welcome

Are you getting messages in the GELF /UDP input?
Can you try using TCP to connect to Graylog?

UDP is stateless (fire and forget) so there isn’t any error checking to see if a GELF packet was received or not.

Hi,

I’m getting messages in the GELF /UDP input, there is no problem.
I can try TCP and let you know.

I know that about UDP, but it shouldn’t generate those errors in server.log em I right?

Hello,
Just an Idea when something like this happens in my environment, I will test out other Inputs like Raw/Plaintext UDP input, etc…

Sometime it does not, with a three way handshake you can find out connection/error issue on both sides (sender & receiver).