Extractor using CSV converter for space delimited messages?

Hi,
I’m trying to create an extractor for unbound DNS request logs.

Sample message:
unbound: [31543:1] info: 10.2.2.1 ahostname-com A IN

Extractor Type: regex

Regex (confirmed working): [redacted. the forum software thinks I have links in my post)

Condition (confirmed working): [redacted: the forum software thinks I have links in my post)

Store as field: dnslookupdata

Strategy: copy

Converter: CSV to fields

Field names: dns_srcip dns_req dns_rectype dns_class

Separator character: (I pressed space bar one time)

Quote character: (I tried leaving blank but it doesn’t work so left default ")

Escape character: \

The regexes work but the converter fails. Is using a “CSV to fields” a suitable way to parse messages that are delimited with spaces? My goal is to grab all fields in a single extractor. I’m new to Graylog. Thanks.

You could but the easier way probably would be to use a Grok extractor instead of the regexp one, since you can then also split all the data into fields already (an example pattern that assumes that ‘unbound’ is the application name, and the 31543:1 is the pid and thread:

"^%{WORD:application_name}: \\[%{NUMBER:pid}:%{NUMBER:thread}\\] %{WORD:level} %{IP:dns_srcip} %{NOTSPACE:dns_req} %{WORD:dns_rectype} %{WORD:dns_class}"

Then you only have the one extractor running, and theoretically it should grab you all the fields you need. Keep in mind the above pattern is an example, so adjust that to your needs, don’t just whap it in and expect it to work :wink:

Regex: ^unbound:\s+[\d+:\d+]\sinfo:(.+)$

Field matches regex: ^unbound:\s+[\d+:\d+]\sinfo:\s((?<![0-9])(?:(?:25[0-5]|2[0-4][0-9]|[0-1]?[0-9]{1,2})...)(?![0-9]))

Thanks for your help. The Grok pattern you provided was pretty much spot on but I made a couple of changes.

^%{WORD:application_name}: [%{NUMBER:pid}:%{NUMBER:thread}] %{LOGLEVEL:level}: %{IP:dns_srcip} %{NOTSPACE:dns_req} %{WORD:dns_rectype} %{WORD:dns_class}