Contains in rule when clause - not working

Hello,
I am new to Graylog and I try to normalize hostnames from different sources (Syslog, SNMP-Traps, Filebeat). Some Devices send only hostname without domain, so I want to add domain in a pipeline rule when the hostname does not contain a dot.
But this does not work, it seems that the rule fires for every hostname even if the field x_host_input contains a . THat leads to entries like hostname.mydomain.local.mydomain.local or 123.123.123.123.mydomain.local. What I am doing wrong?

rule "hostname - add domain"
when
    !is_ip($message.x_host_input) AND
    !contains(to_string($message.x_host_input), ".")
then
    let result = concat(to_string($message.x_host_input), ".mydomain.local");
    set_field("x_host_input", result);
end

In a step before, the field x_host_input is filled with the ip or hostname (source or beats_agent_hostname based on source). A stage later a dns lookup or reverse lookup is done and the name / ip stored to another field. Those rules are working fine.

Regards
Hans

How have you configured your pipeline which this rule is in?

Hello Jesse,
there are two stages.

Stage 1

• copy source field content to x_host_input if input is syslog or snmp
  • copy filebeat_host_hostname field content to x_host_input if input is filebeat
  • copy winlogbeat_host_hostname field content to x_host_input if input is winlogbeat
  • append domain if x_host_input does not contain . - this rule runs always, even if hostname does not contain a dot

Stage 2

• run dns resolution (lookup table) for x_host_input if is string and store into x_host_name
  • run reverse dns resolution (lookup table) for x_host_input if is ip and store into x_host_ip

I would move the append rule into Stage 2 since it’s relying on a field created by another rule in Stage 1.

1 Like

Hi Jesse,

I configured as follows and it seems to work. Is the always true rule (in Stage 2) ok or a dirty hack? As I am new to GL, I still have to learn