Another pipleline question

Hello dear community,
after now four hours of scratching my head I thought it’s time to ask…

I am fairly new to Graylog so perhaps I just misunderstood things.
I have a Syslog Input which is filled by various linux servers. All messages do appear in “All messages” stream. OI now created another stream “All Syslog” where I put messages in that belong to a specific computer (do not look at the names, it’s just a test). This works too. Whenever I click on the specific stream in the Streams-Page the messages just for that server are shown.
I now create a pipeline with a simple rule as stage 0:rule “create_syslog_fields”
when
has_field(“message”)
then
debug(“Pipeline Create Syslog-Test1”);
end

I connect the created pipeline with the Stream “All Syslog” and nothing happens (no Debug message in the log), If I connect the pipeline to the stream “All messages” it works as expected.
What am I doing wrong?

2. Describe your environment:

• OS Information:
    OpenSuse 15.3

• Package Version:
    Graylog 4.2
    Elasticsearch 7.10.2

• Service logs, configurations, and environment variables:

3. What steps have you already taken to try and solve the problem?
see text above

4. How can the community help?
I need help understanding why the messages from the stream “All SYSLOG” are not parsed in the pipeline

I forgot: The streams configuration has a rule:
gl_source_input must match input Linux-Server Input (Syslog UDP: 6205f301d3dde703302d8f7a)

How are you routing the specific server messages into the All Syslog stream?

Also, what is your message Processor Configuration set up - look for it under System-> configurations. People are often caught with having the “pipeline Processor” on the wrong side of the “Message Filter Chain”. You likely want hte “Message Filter Chain” to run before (have a lower number) the 'Pipeline Processor"

1 Like

Hello and thank you for the reply.