Group unknown/suspicious logs into one stream using rules or pipelines

Hello,

I’m new to Graylog and I’m trying to better understand how the software works to evaluate the performance of the open source version for my use case. My goal is to compare its functionalities against other open source and also paid softwares that are meant to receiving and analyzing logs, as well as sending alerts and reports.

The project I’m working on requires the reception of Syslog UDP logs from a variety of sources, such as linux servers and network equipment, to later classify them into two groups:

1. the ones which we already know the format and meaning and thus don’t need to be manually analyzed;
  2. the ones that are unknown for the system administrators and should be gathered in a group to be daily analyzed by the administrators. These are the potentially suspicious logs that may or may not reflect server malfunctions, attacks, etc.

In order to achieve the second grouping, our idea is to apply to the logs some kind of “negative filter”, in a way that the logs that match the well-known syntax conditions for the group 1 do not show up in the group 2. What I’m looking for is the best way to apply this sort of negative filter.

With my basic knowledge of the Graylog features, my first approach was to try doing this by creating different Streams with their own rules, and using the option “Remove matches from ‘All messages’ stream” to get, at the end, only the unknown messages at the generic ‘All messages’ stream. For exemple, I would create a stream exclusive for my mail servers and apply stream rules such as:

• field source must match exactly the IP of the mail server 1 OR the mail server 2…
    AND
  • field message must mach the regular expression 1 OR the regular expression 2…